The executive of the ASGI is elected by open ballot, with the chairperson and secretary chosen every two years. The current members of the ASGI executive are:


Dr. Matt Redman

School of Physics | Centre for Astronomy

NUI Galway
University Road
T: +353 9149 3357

Term of office: 2016 – present



Dr. Emma Whelan

Department of Experimental Physics
Maynooth University

Maynooth, Co Kildare


T: +353 1 7083863

Term of office: 2016-present

Website Information

All of the images used in the website headers are taken from NASA/ESA spacecraft missions including HubbleSOHO and SDO.

This website was designed and produced by David Long, Peter Gallagher and David Perez-Suarez at Trinity College Dublin and is hosted at Armagh Observatory.